Yes, I’m Madame L

Lots of work this week that’s still not done, but I thought I’d get this anecdote down before I forget it. I just had a phone call that went something like this:

Me: Hello.

Caller: Hello, may I please speak with Monsieur L-?

Me: He’s not here right now.

Caller: Then may I speak with Madame L-?

Me: That’s me.

Caller: I don’t understand.

Me: I’m his partner.

Caller: I didn’t know I was calling a business line.

Me: No, this is a house.

Caller: And who do I have the honor of addressing?

Me: I’m Monsieur B-, Monsieur L-‘s partner.

Caller: Oh! OK. (pause) It’s all the same. I’m with company X and we specialize in buying gold…

Me: No thanks!

Leave a Reply

