Martin Luther King on homosexuality

I didn’t know MLK ever spoke or wrote publicly about gay people, but CNN mentions this:

(CNN)– Rev. Martin Luther King Jr. was writing an advice column in 1958 for Ebony magazine when he received an unusual letter.

“I am a boy,” an anonymous writer told King. “But I feel about boys the way I ought to feel about girls. I don’t want my parents to know about me. What can I do?”

In calm, pastoral tones, King told the boy that his problem wasn’t uncommon, but required “careful attention.”

“The type of feeling that you have toward boys is probably not an innate tendency, but something that has been culturally acquired,” King wrote. “You are already on the right road toward a solution, since you honestly recognize the problem and have a desire to solve it.”

 That was 1958 – things are pretty different today. But I’m reminded of when my critical theory prof in college, who was Indian, talked about Marx’s orientalism: even big minds can fall victim to small ideas.
Leave a Reply

